Jhasuguda Bypoll on May 10; Counting of Votes on May 13

New Delhi: Byelection for the Jharsuguda assembly seat in Odisha will be held on May 10, declared the Election Commission of India on Wednesday. The counting of votes of this bypoll will be held on May 13 along with the declaration of the result.

Jharsuguda assembly seat became vacant following the broad-daylight murder of former state health minister Naba Kishor Das on January 29. It has around 2 lakh 21,000 voters.  Notification for this byelection will be out on April 13. The last date to file nominations will be April 20. Scrutiny of nominations will be on April 21 and the last for withdrawal will be on April 23.

Notably, Gopal Das, the police ASI of Gandhi Chowk Police Outpost in Brajarajnagar shot at Health & Family Welfare Minister Naba Das while he was alighting from his vehicle to attend a public meeting at Brajarajnagar on January 29 in Jharsuguda district. The BJD leader fell down and was airlifted to Bhubaneswar in critical condition. He was admitted to the Apollo Hospital where he was declared dead.

Following the incident, the state government ordered a Crime Branch probe into the murder case.

You might also like

Comments are closed.