Pak Election Commission Suspends 271 Lawmakers

Pakistan’s Election Commission suspended the membership of 271 lawmakers across the country. These central and provincial lawmakers of Pakistan have not submitted their statements of assets and liabilities to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP).

As per the norms, these statements are to be filed before the ECP by December 31 every year. But the lawmakers were allowed by the ECP to submit their financial statements up to June 30, 2022, by January 16, 2023.

Despite warnings of suspension of their respective memberships, several lawmakers of Pakistan preferred to defy the directive of the ECP.

The Pak ECP declared that the suspended lawmakers included 136 Members of the National Assembly, 21 senators, and 114 Members of Provincial Assemblies.

You might also like

Comments are closed.