Border-Gavaskar Trophy Extended to 5 Tests Between India & Australia

India and Australia are set to play five Tests later this year in the latest edition of the marquee Border-Gavaskar Trophy. Both countries will play a 5-Test series for the first time since the 1991-92 season, announced Cricket Australia (CA).

The detail schedule of this 2024-25 Test series will be declared in the coming days. Perth is set to host the opening Test of the five-match series.

“For the first time since 1991-92, Australia and India will compete across a five-Test series this summer. The extended series for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy will be a headline of the 2024-25 home summer schedule set to be released in the coming days,” Cricket Australia posted on X in a joint statement with BCCI.

“The BCCI remains steadfast in its dedication to preserving the rich heritage of Test Cricket, a format we hold in the highest esteem,” BCCI secretary Jay Shah said in a CA media release.

“This extension echoes our shared vision to amplify the essence of Test cricket and uphold its legacy,” he added.

In the past four series between the two teams, India have won on all four occasions, including back-to-back away Test series wins in 2018-19 and 2020-21. But Australia defeated India in the World Test Championship final in London in 2023.

You might also like

Comments are closed.