Chetan Sharma To Continue As BCCI Selection Committee Chairman; Shiv Sundar Das In Panel

Mumbai: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Saturday announced the reappointment of Chetan Sharma as the chairman of selectors, and further announced four names for the Senior Men’s National Selection Committee.

With Chetan Sharma being recommended for the position of chief selector, Shiv Sundar Das, Subroto Banerjee, Salil Ankola and Sridharan Sharath will also be part of the panel.

The Board received around 600 applications following its advertisement for the five posts issued on its official website on 18th November 2022.

Upon due deliberation and careful consideration, the CAC shortlisted 11 individuals for personal interviews. Based on the interviews, the Committee has recommended the following candidates for the Senior Men’s National Selection Committee.

1) Chetan Sharma

2) Shiv Sundar Das

3) Subroto Banerjee

4) Salil Ankola

5) Sridharan Sharath

The board had earlier parted ways with the Chetan Sharma-led selection committee after the Indian team had failed to reach the final of the T20 World Cup last year.

Under Chetan’s tenure, India also failed to qualify for the final of the Asia Cup; in 2021, the team was knocked out in the group stages of the T20 World Cup as well.

You might also like

Comments are closed.