Match Officials For India vs Australia World Cup 2023 Final Announced

Ahmedabad: English umpires Richard Illingworth and Richard Kettleborough are set to officiate the World Cup final between India and Australia in Ahmedabad on Sunday. Kettleborough previously umpired the 2015 World Cup final and will partner with Illingworth for the upcoming match. The final is expected to draw a significant crowd, surpassing the 93,000 spectators at the 2015 final.

This marks Illingworth’s second World Cup final appearance, having played in the 1992 Cricket World Cup final. Kettleborough and Illingworth were both promoted to the ICC International List in November 2009 and officiated in the recent semi-finals.

Joel Wilson of Trinidad and Tobago will serve as the third umpire, with Chris Gaffaney (New Zealand) as the fourth umpire and Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe) as the match referee. All were part of the officiating teams in the semi-finals.

Illingworth and Kettleborough, recipients of the David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year, have had distinguished careers. Kettleborough won the award three consecutive times from 2013-2015, while Illingworth claimed it in 2019 and 2022. In the semi-finals, Illingworth officiated India’s victory over New Zealand, and Kettleborough oversaw Australia’s thrilling win against South Africa in Kolkata.

You might also like

Comments are closed.