Several Leaders Quit Maharashtra Navnirman Sena After Raj Thackeray Declares Support For PM Modi

Mumbai: Several members of the Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) have tendered their resignations in objection to party leader Raj Thackeray’s decision to throw support behind Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the BJP-led Mahayuti alliance in the state. Among those who have stepped down is MNS general secretary Kirtikumar Shinde, who took to Facebook to articulate his stance.

Shinde highlighted the shift in Thackeray’s position, noting the leader’s previous opposition to PM Modi and the BJP in 2019. He expressed concern over the impact of such abrupt changes on party workers who remain committed to their beliefs.

Thackeray, during his annual Gudi Padwa rally, declared unconditional support for PM Modi and the Mahayuti alliance, comprising the BJP, Shiv Sena under Eknath Shinde, and the NCP led by Ajit Pawar. This move marks a significant departure from MNS’s previous stance, having backed Modi’s candidacy in 2014 but subsequently becoming a vocal critic in 2019.

The decision has prompted resignations not only from prominent figures like Shinde but also from grassroots members, including Mihir Davte and members of MNS’s student wing in Dombivali. Davte cited difficulty in reconciling with Thackeray’s shifting positions and noted internal disagreements among party workers.

You might also like

Comments are closed.