Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Congress, National Conference Finalise Seat Sharing in J&K, Ladakh

Srinagar: The Congress and the National Conference have announced their seat-sharing agreement in Jammu and Kashmir ahead of the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. According to the agreement, Congress will contest from Udhampur, Jammu, and Ladakh Lok Sabha seats, while National Conference candidates will vie for Anantnag, Baramulla, and Srinagar Lok Sabha seats.

This announcement follows the decision of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) to field candidates independently for three seats in the Kashmir Valley after accusing Omar Abdullah of ‘non-cooperation’ over seat allocation.

Responding to PDP’s allegations, Omar Abdullah stated that decisions were made based on the formula established during the NC-Congress coalition rule from 2008 to 2014, where candidates were chosen according to the winners of the 2014 assembly polls.

The Lok Sabha polls in Jammu and Kashmir are scheduled to be held in five phases on April 19 (Udhampur), April 26 (Jammu), May 7 (Anantnag-Rajouri), May 13 (Srinagar), and May 20 (Baramulla). Vote counting will take place on June 4.

You might also like

Comments are closed.