India Launches ‘Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar’ to Honour Scientific Excellence

New Delhi: The Indian Government has introduced the Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar (RVP), a prestigious set of National Awards in Science, Technology, and Innovation. These awards recognize the remarkable contributions of scientists, technologists, and innovators, either individually or in teams, across various domains of science, technology, and technology-led innovation.

The RVP is one of the highest recognitions in India’s scientific and technological landscape. Eligible recipients include individuals working in government, private sector organizations, or independently, who have made noteworthy contributions through groundbreaking research, innovation, or discoveries in their respective fields. Individuals of Indian origin residing abroad, whose exceptional contributions have benefited Indian communities or society as a whole, are also eligible.

The awards are distributed across four categories:

  • Vigyan Ratna (VR) Award: Honors lifetime achievements and significant contributions in any field of science and technology.
  • Vigyan Shri (VS) Award: Recognizes distinguished contributions in the realm of science and technology.
  • Vigyan Yuva-Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (VY-SSB) Award: Encourages young scientists up to the age of 45 who have made exceptional contributions in science and technology.
  • Vigyan Team (VT) Award: Presented to teams comprising three or more scientists, researchers, or innovators who have made an exceptional collective contribution in any field of science and technology.

The RVP covers 13 domains, including Physics, Chemistry, Biological Sciences, Mathematics & Computer Science, Earth Science, Medicine, Engineering Sciences, Agricultural Science, Environmental Science, Technology & Innovation, Atomic Energy, Space Science and Technology, and Others. Ensuring representation from each domain and gender parity is a priority.

The selection process for these awards involves the Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar Committee (RVPC), chaired by the Principal Scientific Adviser (PSA) to the Government of India. The RVPC comprises Secretaries of Science Departments, members of Science and Engineering Academies, and distinguished scientists and technologists from various fields of science and technology.

Nominations for these awards are invited annually from January 14th (National Science Day) until February 28th (National Technology Day). The award announcements take place on May 11th (National Technology Day), and the Award Ceremony is held on August 23rd (National Space Day). All recipients receive a certificate and a medal.

You might also like

Comments are closed.