BCCI Bars Alcohol, Tobacco, Betting Brands from Indian Teams’ Title Sponsorship; Check Full List

Mumbai: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has initiated the process of inviting tenders for the title sponsorship of the Indian cricket teams, including the men’s, women’s, and age group teams. This comes after BCCI’s previous contract with ed-tech company BYJU’S expired, leaving the Indian cricket teams without a title sponsor. The impact of this change was not evident during the World Test Championship final as teams are not allowed to display their title sponsors on their chests in ICC tournaments. Instead, the logos are typically shifted to the right or left hand, as seen with Australia’s kit, featuring the manufacturer Asics on the right arm and the title sponsor, Qantas Airlines, on the left arm. In contrast, India only sported the logo of their kit sponsor, Adidas.

The BCCI is now seeking bids from reputable entities interested in acquiring the National Team Lead Sponsor rights. The bidding process commences with the purchase of the bid document, available for a non-refundable fee of ₹5 lakh. The last date for document purchase is June 26. It’s important to note that merely purchasing the bid document does not guarantee eligibility to bid. Only entities that meet the specified criteria and adhere to the terms and conditions outlined in the bid document will be considered eligible.

BCCI has provided separate payment details for Indian and overseas entities interested in submitting bids. However, it is crucial to mention that certain brand categories have been prohibited by the board from applying for the Indian cricket teams’ title sponsorship. These banned categories, listed in Annexure B of the document, include Athleisure and Sportswear Manufacturers, Alcohol Products, Betting, Cryptocurrency, Real Money Gaming (excluding Fantasy Sports Gaming), Tobacco, and any category that may offend public morals, such as pornography.

After their defeat to Australia in the World Test Championship final, the Indian cricket team’s next assignment will be against the West Indies. The tour, scheduled to commence on July 12, consists of two Tests, three ODIs, and five T20Is.

You might also like

Comments are closed.